2nd Hairbrained Video Award Nominees Announced

As a proud sponsor of the Hairbrained community, American Salon is excited to reveal the nominees for the 2nd Annual Hairbrained Video Awards. A catalyst for creativity, the HVA has become a coveted award that helps propel careers and foster community.

Now, two years later, more than 1000 videos were created and shared by Hairbrained members in 2014, the majority purely for creative expression or to educate peers.

Many careers of the first year’s nominees have blossomed, and they are leaving their mark in our industry. Most importantly, the mutual sense of respect and support for our fellow artists has grown.


Enjoying this story? Subscribe to the American Salon Newsletter

Get inspirational trends, techniques, tips, education and the latest beauty news delivered right to your inbox! To read on the go, sign up today to get weekly beauty news and updates.

HVA winners will receive much needed funding to aid in the production of future projects. A panel of judges will choose from the nominees, a winner in each category, and an overall Grand Prize Winner ($5,000).

HVA Trophy Winners will be honored and prizes awarded in New York on Sunday, March 8, 2015, at The Arena Night Club, in collaboration with IBS New York.

And now, without further ado, the nominees for The 2nd Annual Hairbrained Video Awards are:

LoFi [NoFi] Video of the Year
(Low to no budget, creative use of low technology)

Douglas McCoy
Aaron Johnson
Michael Thoder
HeaD AreA
Tim Dueñas

Even Further Video of the Year
(Creative, Avant Garde, pushing the limits of a hair film)

Ericka Michael Verrett
Maksim Nikitochkin
Rodney Cutler
Aaron Johnson
Lina Arrojo

Behind The Scenes Video of the Year
(Captures the magic behind the scenes at hair, fashion shows, events and photo-shoots)

Douglas McCoy
X-Presion Producciones
Rodney Cutler
Marci landgrave
Cantrell Mitchell Jr.

Steps Video of the Year
(Technical education, step by step cut color or styling)

Russell Mayes
Natasha Nadvorna
The Kingly Hair Group
Jenny Strebe
Maksim Nikitochkin

Coaching Video of the Year
(Business advice, motivation)

Christian Awesome
Skyler Marsh
Anthony Presotto
Matt Beck
Ivan Zoot

Humorous Video of the Year
(Oh no you didn't)

Adam Federico
Hair F*!#*r
Nicholas Shatarah
John McCormick
Civello Salon & Spa

About Hairbrained: Hairbrained.me is an online community where hairdressers can contribute, share and be recognized.  To learn more, visit hairbrained.me.