British Hairdressing Awards Announces 2009 Winners


Akin Konizi accepts his trophy as the 2009 British Hairdresser of the Year.

Congratulations to winners of the 25th annual British Hairdressing Awards! The awards were presented by Hairdressers Journal International and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional at the JW Marriott Hotel in London’s Park Lane. “British hairdressing is renowned throughout the world for its creativity and innovation, and with the British Hairdressing Awards we are recognizing, rewarding and celebrating the best of British,†said Jayne Lewis-Orr, publisher and editor-in-chief of Hairdressers Journal International.

Here are the winners:

  • British Hairdresser of the Year 2009: Akin Konizi, Hob salons
  • Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year: Darren Ambrose, D&J Ambrose, Middlesex
  • Men’s Hairdresser of the Year: Desmond Murray, Atherton Cox, London
  • Afro Hairdresser of the Year: Michelle Thompson, Francesco Group Advanced Academy, Stafford
  • Artistic Team of the Year: Hob salons, London
  • Newcomer of the Year: Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson Hair Body & Mind, Mansfield
  • Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year: Chris Williams, Rush London, Croydon
  • London Hairdresser of the Year: Darren Bain, Hob salons, London
  • Southern Hairdresser of the Year: Leo Bancroft, Leo Bancroft, Weybridge
  • Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Terri Kay, Mark Leeson Hair Body & Mind, Mansfield
  • Midlands Hairdresser of the Year: James Whyte, Soul Hair, Chester
  • North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Susan Hall, Reds Hair & Beauty, Sunderland
  • North Western Hairdresser of the Year: Sharon Peake, Ethos, Manchester
  • Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year: Ken Picton, Ken Picton, Cardiff Bay
  • Scottish Hairdresser of the Year: Janer Stewart, Angels, Aberdeen
  • Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year: Kevin Kahan, Kevin Kahan, Bangor