PBA Announces 2015 NAHA Winners

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) is pleased to announce the 2015 North American Hairstyling Award winners. The winners were recognized during a star-studded awards ceremony on July 12, 2015 at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas. Held during PBA Beauty Week, North America’s largest, most inclusive beauty event, NAHA drew more than 3,000 attendees to the event, while thousands tuned in to watch PBA’s live streaming broadcast online at nahalive.com.   

NAHA's top honor, Hairstylist of the Year, was presented to Robert Grimes from RLG Salon in Austin, TX. This is Grimes’s first NAHA Hairstylist of the Year honor.  He also took home the 2015 award for the Contemporary Classic category.    NAHA honors artists in 15 distinct categories including People’s Choice Award. The NAHA 2015 winners in their respective categories include: 

Master Hairstylist of the Year 


Enjoying this story? Subscribe to the American Salon Newsletter

Get inspirational trends, techniques, tips, education and the latest beauty news delivered right to your inbox! To read on the go, sign up today to get weekly beauty news and updates.

Vivienne Mackinder

HairDesigner TV, Riverhead, NY

Hairstylist of the Year

Robert Grimes

RLG Salon, Austin, TX

Newcomer Stylist of the Year

Lizz Kapta

Salt Lake City, UT

Editorial Stylist of the Year

Lisa Yamasaki 

J’s Hair Studio & Academy, Rowland Heights, CA

Men’s Hairstylist of the Year

Paul Pereira

Solo Bace Salon, Toronto, ON

Student Hairstylist of the Year

Dustin Villa

Veda Institute Tucson, Tucson, AZ

Avant Garde

Erika Fung

NC Salon, Markham, ON

Contemporary Classic

Robert Grimes

RLF Salon, Austin, TX


Marlo Steenman

Hair by Marlo, St. Albert, AB


Lauren Moser

Hair Lab Detroit, Detroit, MI

Salon Team of the Year

Local B

Outremont, QC

Salon Design

Hairroin Salon NYC

New York, NY 

NAHA Awards Ceremony & Artistic Presentations: The NAHA 2015 ceremony proved to be the pinnacle event at PBA Beauty Week 2015, recognizing the artistry and skill of the professional salon industry. As the top achievement for professional hairstylists and makeup artists, past and present NAHA entrants, finalists and winners continue to push the boundaries of trend-setting style.  Also on hand to present some of the night’s biggest awards were NAHA greats including Nicholas French, Nick Stenson and Fabio Sementilli.  Past NAHA winner and finalist appearances included Chrystofer Benson, Charlie Price, Allen Ruiz and Dusty Simington. This year also included a NAHA first, with the addition of the Nail Professional of the Year category.

This year’s celebration also included a specialty opportunity drawing for a chance to win a 2015 Fiat 500A, courtesy of J Beverly Hills. High-energy artistic presentations were performed by Aveda, Matrix, Redken, and recipient of the 2014 NAHA Hairstylist of the Year award, Alain Pereque. 

The NAHA 2016 application process opens Thursday, November 5, 2015. Applications will be available at www.probeauty.org/naha.

About: The Professional Beauty Association’s purpose is to advance the professional beauty industry by providing our members with education, charitable outreach, government advocacy, events and more. PBA is the largest organization of salon professional with members representing salons and spas, distributors, manufacturers and beauty professionals/NCA.